Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Through the Looking Glass

Charles Dodgson aka Lewis Carroll bought his six unmarried sisters a house in Guildford in 1868 following the death of his father, and paid them frequent visits up to the last year of his life and his death in 1898.

Alice Through the Looking Glass was written during a stay in Guildford in 1871, and his connection with the town is celebrated by this sculpture by Jeanne Argent, and can be found in the castle grounds. Another sculpture, this time of Alice and the White Rabbit, by Edwin Russell can be found near the river.

Technically, I was moaning to myself about the poor light, before realising I still had a polariser fitted. However, I left it on for this shot when I noticed it bringing out the stress marks in the 'looking glass'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.