Cornhill Terrace

Eight years ago tonight I took David down to Cables Wynd, to Denise & Al's place to settle him down for the night so as I could get back up to Balfour Street to resume my birthing partner role for the birth of child number two.

Whilst I was down there I received a text requesting some (lots of) red wine.

I got David to sleep, and dutifully purchased some Spanish red at the now defunct Odd Bins / Vicky Wine on GreatSpunkedOnTits (Great Junction Street).

When I arrived back (around 7:30pm), I was informed that I was too late and that red wine was no longer required.

Less than two hours later my beautiful wee Rose was born, in the flat, on the couch (the couch I still have in my current flat).

It was a magical, perfect night. Something I'll never forget and never stop appreciating for being an event that a lot of guys either don't have the chance, inclination or opportunity to be involved in.

Thank you, Jeni for letting me be your birthing partner, for giving me my wonderful daughter and being a fucking excellent mum to her (and David, of course).

P.S. I brought red wine round to Jeni's tonight too. This time, it was required/appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.