Namaikisaru

By Namaikisaru

Mochi Flash

Today was one of the rare occasions when the photograph I had in mind has ended up being my blip.

Making mochi, as can be seen by this photograph, is the traditional way for mothers to relieve stress.

I have two flash units that I picked up cheap. This was taken with an off camera flash held out to the side, triggered by the pop-up flash on the camera. It kind of works. I've been reading about flash but most everything is aimed at Nikon and Canon users. I still haven't figured out how to use my Pentax units properly. So, bored of reading about it I figured I should just keep trying to shoot stuff using them.

Some one very kindly grabbed my camera when it was my turn to pound the rice into mochi with my daughter. I have five shots of us completely out of focus with beautifully crisp backgrounds. I think I might copy his technique with some cropping to do some street photography.

I've put some extras on Flickr again. It kind of forces me to not go back and try to take the same shot again, though I suppose I could.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.