Mags' Moments

By MagsMoments

Big Bird

Not quite what one expects to meet on a rural footpath in deepest Andalucía, but this ostrich and his mate have been here for as long as I’ve known the place.

We have other big birds around too, like spectacular Golden Eagles and circling colonies of Griffon Vultures, but they’re a little harder to get up close and personal with!

The ostriches live in a pen at the end of a local builder’s yard and they directly overlook a meandering footpath that runs between our village and its nearest neighbour. It’s not unusual to see visiting walkers do a surprised double-take when they stumble across them hidden amongst the olive groves!

Personally, I think their pen could be a bit bigger, but at least these magnificent birds have a spectacular view and do not want for company.

I’m not sure this big guy was too impressed by me and my camera…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.