Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Time for some air brushing

Today I washed the parts I am going to airbrush. The four boxcars are prebuilt by PBL but need weathering. I learned a while ago to wash the car before weathering. When you touch them with your hands, it leaves some oil in the form of a fingerprint. Hit that car with some weathering spray and suddenly you have a HUGE fingerprint on the side of the car that is painted. Like a giant picked it up. No going back and fixing that. Have to strip the car and start over. Do not ask me how I know this.

Most of the parts are the trucks and wheels for the four boxcars and the two flat car models I am building. The flat cars are a little different in that the sides are already painted and lettered. But the other parts are not. So I am painting the ends and underneath details separately and will then glue them to the frame. This way I do not rush overspray getting into the sides. Once together I can weather the flats as well. I have a wood holder that holds four wheels so I can spray the sides but not the treads.

The flats have fewer small parts to glue on so they should come together quickly.

I do like air brushing, but the cleanup is a pain also I try and group projects together and paint as much as possible. Easy to clean between colors and at the end I take everything apart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.