Uncle Ralston

I was doing some research today for the book I'm co-writing about the late George Wyllie.
My writing partner is George's elder daughter, Louise. The books is due to be published in autumn 2015.
Louise asked me to interview her two cousins in Skelmorlie which I was happy to do.
I went with George Wyllie Foundation curator, Lynne, who is always curious to find out more about the backstory of what made George the often off-the-wall artist which the public knew and loved.
The first thing to note was that nephew Alistair and niece Gillian didn't know him as George Wyllie. He was Uncle Ralston. By the end of the interview I was even calling him Ralston.
Ralston was his middle name and the name his family and friends knew him by until he started getting involved in the art world in the 1960s.
We had a great blether and I now have more questions in my head than ever...
Given that George said the question mark should be at the root of all things, this is as it should be.
This picture shows the Wyllie family store in Skelmorlie in the 1950s.
It was run by George's mother - or Granny Wyllie as Alistair and Gillian referred to her. After she gave it up, her younger son, Banks (Alistair and Gillian's dad) took it over.
Banks and George (or Ralston) had a tap-dancing act when they were boys... They even tap danced on the wireless on the X Factor of its day.

Just noticed I'm a ghostly spectre in this picture...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.