Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Sport Relief Day

I was working today in lieu of Tuesday. It was a good day to work being Sports Relief. The day started with the whole school singing the Sports Relief song in the playground to the parents who waited around. My class did their mile after break and I ran with them, encouraging, cajoling and holding hands when necessary.

I then ran off to nursery to collect William and give him some money to spend at the Nursery cake sale. He insisted on picking three cakes for himself, Carys and me. Then he told me that cake wouldn't help Daddy get better so Daddy could have a biscuit. Made my heart melt and made me want to cry at the same time. Bless him.

We spent the afternoon walking (in my case) and cycling (in William's case) around Oughton Common, obviously stopping in at the Garden Gate Tea Room for refreshment along the way.

It is one of those days, you know, when you have had a week of scratching around for Blips and then the day comes when you have too many to choose from. I had a lovely one of the moody sky as we left the tea rooms, a great one of William sitting on the branch of a tree with the Oughton behind him, but Carys was so chuffed with herself when she came out of school I had to blip her.

This morning we were talking about the mile and I explained it was just for fun. I was informed in no uncertain terms that she intended to beat all the boys! ( No idea where she gets her insanely competitive nature from!) Well turns out she did, almost. One boy beat her, but she was second in her class. To make her day even more complete, each class teacher had one medal to give out to the child they thought was most deserving of it. Mrs. B gave the Class 2 medal to Carys. She is so chuffed she might just explode.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.