Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

The Cracks in our History

DDW's March 2014 Vocabulary Challenge - Rimulose

Today I went to check on an old graveyard, closed off due to Health and Safety concerns. Its sad to see the complete disrepair after only a couple of years. There were lots of opportunities for the vocabulary challenge - Rimulose, have cracks or fissures. There was ivy pulling chunks of stone away from gravestones, general cracks - and this one. This was a headstone which had been laid down, as it was considered a risk of falling. In the process, a crack had developed in the base. As someone who has researched my family history, I found myself wondering - we are throwing valuable information away here. And giving up on memories. There isn't a gravestone in this graveyard older than 1850, and I found some from 1950. I bet the families who first placed those stones were hoping they would last longer than that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.