And now for the weather....

Libraries. Lights. Laughs.

I had a mental moment this morning when I turned up an hour too early to pick Carole up...oops! At the correct time I went back for her and we went to Eccles and then caught the tram into town. We had lunch in the Art Gallery and then went on a tour of Central Library. The library opens officially tomorrow but there were tours on today and we had a ticket for 2pm. It has been totally refurbished over the last few months and I have to say they have done a really good job. We were taken into the strong rooms which will be closed to the public so it was great to see behind the scenes. It is lighter, brighter and technically right up to date. In the music section there were even instruments that you can play with headphones.

On the tram home we saw the first celebrity of the day...I use the term 'celebrity' very, very loosely though...Hazel I'll smile like a loon and hog the limelight but do nothing Blears got on at Media City.

I went along to the Quays to meet up with Kathymay this evening to see the laser light display Thank You.It was to commemorate the contribution Alan Turing has made to code breaking and computer science. We were under the impression...as many people were tonight...that there would be beams lighting up the sky...hmmm, how wrong we were. There wasn't much of a display but we met some interesting people and had such a laugh.

We set up our tripods on the bridge by the BBC and saw 'celebrity' number two...Craig Charles...fresh off the set of Coronation Street. A BBC cameraman then arrived and set up his paraphernalia and we sidled over to see what was happening. Apparently they were going to film Eno...celebrity (debatable) number three... giving the weather report for North West Tonight. What a diva she was!!! When she finished and tottered off in her ludicrous heels the cameraman and the sound man came over to apologise for her. They were such lovely guys, a complete contrast to Eno.

She deigned to allow me to take her pic when she had finished the report...she didn't want me to take a pic whilst she was doing it as there was so much going on...blimey, she only had a few lines to read...I said that's okay, even though I sneaked a few shots anyway hah! Apparently she is photosensitive and didn't want me to use a flash. I had to tell her a few times that I didn't have a flash gun with me, I took her pic and off she toddled. I bet she doesn't shy away from flashes when she attends celebrity shindigs...as I said to Kathymay, "Photosensitive, my arse!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.