shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Bengali lady

Much laughter accompanied two of my colleagues putting me in (most of) a sari just before lunch today. I do now have two '3 piece' (shalwar kameez), but I decided a sari was going too far, but Mallica insisted that I try one of hers. My t-shirt doesn't quite match, but I am not a standard Bangladeshi size person! This is Mahsin, with whom I have worked closely via e-mail for some time on project monitoring and evaluation, so it was great to meet her and get to know her a bit. Sadly she is moving on to another job soon, and will be much missed. Mallica was very disappointed when I insisted on changing back into my 3 piece before going out for an extremely tasty lunch in a restaurant. Funnily enough Jiptha stayed away from this whole episode, though did have a good laugh at the photos of me posing to order, especially the ones of me looking sad like a good Bengali bride.

It was a long day working on log frames and project planning, not exactly the definition of a weekend for anyone! Tomorrow Jiptha and I head to Thailand for a week of meetings there, though there is a rumour that there will be a visit to the Elephant Park, which will be great! It will be wonderful to catch up with colleagues from around the world whom I met when they visited Scotland at various points over the last few years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.