What happened was...

By DJHairbear

Totnes High Street

It has been years since I last came to Totnes, and to be honest I don't remember it being this busy! For those of you who aren't from Devon, Totnes is a small riverside town in the South Hams. You won't find big High Street names here, in fact the local residents and business owners recently were successful in preventing Costa Coffee from opening a store in the town. Instead you'll find quaint little cafes selling homemade cakes and buns, the smells as you walk down the street are amazing!

The archway in the photo is known as the East Gate and this was extensively restored after a fire destroyed it in 1990, photos taken at the time (not by me as I was only 10) can be found here... http://totnesfirestation.weebly.com/the-east-gate-arch-fire.html

I think you'll agree they did a grand job in restoring the arch to its former glory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.