Quote Of The Day

I was standing in line at Aldi's to pay for my groceries:

He (about 60, American, speaking a very good German), to the check-out girl:
"Good morning, how are you today?"
She (about 20, apprentice) : "Fine, thank you - how about you?"
He: "Fantastic, the weather is just perfect for a weekend."
She: ??? in her eyes
He: "Perfect weather - I don't have to work in the garden."

Of course all this was in German:
"Guten Morgen, wie geht es Ihnen heute?"
"Danke gut, und Ihnen?"
"Fantastisch, das Wetter ist perfekt fürs Wochenende."
????
"Perfektes Wetter, ich brauche nicht im Garten zu arbeiten."

First thing that surprised me was his good German - almost no accent. Usually it's the other way around, almost everybody knows at least a few words of English around here and most Americans rely on that.
Second: Germans don't say to the cashier "how are you today..." we are not that polite (sorry to say that).
Third: She replied just as perfect and didn't look a bit surprised.
And finally his explanation - it made my day. I was smiling all day long. And even more, the more rain came down.
This cloud shared some sleet with us, but only for a few minutes. I'm convinced he enjoyed it just as much as I did.

This is not b/w, it looked like that outside.

20:00 CET 5°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.