Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Pape's Cottages Stained Glass Window

A grey wet start to the day. I missed the heavy rain on the way in to work, but it rained all morning, and I was wondering if I would be able to go out for a walk (I get cabin fever very easily). Eventually the rain stopped enough to allow me to head out and dash down towards Murrayfield.

I took a photo of the end of Pape's Cottages because of the story above the window. I could see the leaves and birds, but the colours were muted. An interesting image nonetheless, but flat.

As I walked left, I had a look over the hedge. I could see the light reflecting off the window. As I carried on, I could see the grey turn to black, grey and colours sparkle, revealing the wavy pattern on the glass like an oil sheen reflects light on water.

Rather than let the subject absorb the light, I had to move to adjust the angle so that I caught a more vibrant image than I could rightly expect from a dull day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.