LeafGate and Young Pups

This is not Watergate which would have been over the left about 100 feet where the lake is now.
It is however my favourite Blatting track and when The Boss first came to Wanaka you could drive a car down here but there are anti car barriers now so it’s just walkers and dogs and bikes and we all get along really well.
Early in the morning this is a really lovely place to be and with Autumn Falling (This is an international journal…OK) the scenes change daily.
This morning I have to confess we did walk a little further than usual and I probably blat at least twice the distance The Boss walks so it was maybe not surprising that I was so slooo on the last of the return trip that The boss clipped my lead on as he got sick of calling me every time I dropped out of sight while I was taking a prolonged interest in standing sniffing something.
The Bosss says that this is a “Birthday” problem and that got demonstrated on the way bark as we met a super puppy that just wanted to have fun. ( a girl) and she took off with me in hot pursuit and proceeded to go places at speeds that I struggled to match. The Boss says that it is easy to get “led astray” by young pups and any mature dog should be careful to operate within our Birthday Capabilities. He also said that humans should be mindful of this too ‘Cos Young Pups didn’t have the same values as Older Dogs. This is really noticeable in the Ski season as The Young Pups proudly show off their injuries as badges of honour but may not feel the same way about that 40 years later when Osteoarthritis sets in and cramps their style considerably.
For Humans riding a bike is way easier on your joints but with four legs we can pass most bikers. It’s a matter of superior design I recon.

Change Gear?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.