The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Pontypridd v Llanelli - Quarter Finals Day

It's been a while but I finally made it to Sardis Road today. It was SWALEC Cup quarter finals day, and we entertained Llanelli to the House of Pain.

Pontypridd are chasing a double double, having won the league and cup last season. After a dominant second half that blew Llanelli away, that dream is still on. It looked a little less doubtful at half time mind you. Llanelli scored from the kick off, but Ponty hit back with a brace of tries in the first twenty minutes. The first scored by Geraint Walsh (pictured here). It was then a bit of a dogfight for the remaining quarter. Llanelli begun the second half like the first with a neat try, alas that was their last score. Ponty went through the gears and blew them away. The final score 55-15 to us.

There was a special uninvited guest at Sardis today. David Moffett decided to walk into the bear pit. I have got to say I admire his guts. I was asked to take a few photos of him chatting to the Ponty faithful for the launch of his blueprint next week. I was quite nervous as I am recognisable, and I had no idea what kind of reaction I was going to get from the video that went out last week. I was also worried what kind of reaction Moffett would get, it only takes one nutter after all.

My worries were slightly eased when two people told me how much they enjoyed the interview. David seemed to be getting plenty of banter and was able to argue with some of the fans without it getting nasty too. All in all it was an excellent afternoon out.

I have put the rest of the photos up on Flickr. You can find them here.

Here is one with David Moffett chatting with some Ponty fans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.