aharr1cd

By aharr1cd

I'm a Pi Fan

Finally got the cooling Fan to work on my Raspberry pi, I know it's not necessary as it shouldn't get so hot it shuts down and the attached heat sinks should help, but as I had a cooling fan, it's a 12v Fan which isn't ideal either as the Raspberry pi only puts out 5v thru it GPIO connector, so the fan can't run at it's top speed, but I found this installing Fan for Raspberry Pi.

This helped to sort out the issue I was having as the fan comes with a three prong connector and as the cables are all black how do you know which is ground wire and which is power wire? Well I had a 9v battery, so I cut the black cable from the connector and tried different combinations until the fan started turning then noted positive and negative from the battery and then connect to power and ground on the GPIO and the fan worked.

The next stage is to get some Python code, which will test the temporary of the Raspberry Pi and then turn on when it gets to hot, but I leave that for another day.

I found Chill Pi Article using PiBorg put I don't want to purchase any additional parts at the moment, unless next step is to build a robot?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.