tempus fugit

By ceridwen

I've been wandering in the greenwoods

I've been wandering in the greenwoods
And mid flowery smiling plains
I've been listening to the dark floods
To the thrushes thrilling strains

I have gathered the pale primrose
And the purple violet sweet
I've been where the Asphodel grows
And where lives the red deer fleet.

I've been to the distant mountain,
To the silver singing rill
By the crystal murmering fountain,
And the shady verdant hill.

I've been where the poplar is springing
From the fair Inamelled ground
Where the nightingale is singing
With a solemn plaintive sound.


Charlotte Bronte wrote this poem in 1829 when she was 13.
Inscribed on a 3-inch square of paper which is now barely legible, the original sold for £92,450 last year.

I didn't find any asphodel, see any red deer or hear any nightingales but there are wood anemones and dog's mercury in flower, bluebell leaves bursting though and thrushes are singing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.