Not just letters home

By haylo53

STOP THE PRESSES - SUNSHINE HITS EDINBURGH

Hey, southern Scottish impostor city - who are you and what have you done with Edinburgh?!

Who knew. Incidentally, I shouldn’t be (that) surprised - the last time I was in Scotland, it was 28 degrees and, treated to dinner on my friends’ balcony overlooking the Clyde in Glasgow, it felt more summertime French riviera than late spring Scotland. It’s not nearly as warm now, but I wish I’d packed my shades!

This morning was my first time back in Edinburgh in nearly two years, and it felt great to be back. There’s something really special about stepping off a plane into a different place that you know well enough to feel completely at home in, despite not having been back for awhile. It’s like riding a bike I guess, and it’s all in the little things, from remembering how much change to have when hopping on the Airlink to knowing the layout of Waverley station well enough to grab a train ticket, a coffee and a wrap in ten minutes before jumping on the train to Glasgow. It’s so familiar, which is a lovely feeling, and outweighs the twinge of sadness I feel in not being able to call this great city home anymore.

Having said all that, it didn’t stop me from mistakenly addressing the bus driver in French at one point. Oops, I guess that will be tomorrow’s battle!

Oh yeah. Here's the Scott Monument, bathed in sunlight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.