An Early Tea??

This week is the Histories Festival in Manchester and there are lots of things going on, there are walks, talks, workshops and much more. Today Carole and I went on a tour of John Ryland's Library and The Royal Exchange, it was really interesting. It must be nearly twenty years since I've been inside the library and it has changed so much. I loved going in there when I was studying Tennyson. I would order an old book at the desk and it would be brought out and placed on a cushion and for one book I even had to wear white gloves to turn the pages. The books were so beautiful, with wonderful illustrations.

The building is stunning inside and I will be going back for another mooch sometime. I did take quite a few pics and I was going to post a photo of The Ryland's St John Fragment...it is a tiny fragment of paper dating to approximately 125AD. It comes from a bible and has writing on both sides. It has been identified as from the New Testament when Jesus was taken to Pilate.

I have loved some of the sneaky shots other blippers have taken of people and today I saw an opportunity and decided to go for it myself. We had gone into town on the tram as we were waiting on the platform to return home and I spotted this couple eating each other kissing. I actually went up twice to take shots as I wasn't happy with the first one but they were oblivious, thankfully. Two other women saw me and were laughing. Looking at it now I can see it needed better composition but I had to start somewhere. It is a strange taking candid shots but quite exciting too, I think I will brave it again. So thank you Lazooligirl and IWC for inspiring me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.