Out and About

By Puffin

A Sociable Day

When I retired, friends said I needed a dog to give me a reason to go out every day. I disagreed. Blipfoto does the same. Having a camera in hand encourages people to talk to you just like dog owners talk to each other.

I spent a happy half hour wandering round Holborn chatting to a chap I met while taking photos of the Old Bailey. He was a bit of a photographer himself and kept pointing out photo opportunities. Then, taking photos over Blackfriars Bridge, I was serenaded by the waving of tourists on a river boat which caused another passer by to comment on my popularity and stop to chat.

Coming up through Southwark Underground Station, which I had done thousands of times when I commuted to London, I was struck by the red pillars; I had never noticed them when I was commuting. Carrying a camera brings a new perspective and another new friend. The ticket gate official approached me suspiciously but when I told him I was admiring the red pillars he told me of lots of other photo opportunities around the station and we chatted at length about cameras. That's him helping a traveller.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.