Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Frank & Buddy

I've been in New Jersey today, after flying into Newark last night.  I discovered that the town where I am staying is where the Guide Dog movement started in 1929.  The organisation here is called 'The Seeing Eye' and this statue commemorates Frank and Buddy who were pioneers of the modern Guide Dog movement in the US.  This organisation was the first to provide dogs trained to guide people who are blind.  

It was a beautifully sunny but VERY cold day today.  It never got above above zero Centigrade and felt even colder with the wind.  

As I was walking around I saw several guide dogs in training, each with a blindfolded human by their side.  

The name of the organisation, The Seeing Eye, comes from Proverbs 20:12 in the Bible, "The seeing eye, the hearing ear; The Lord hath made them both."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.