Allons-y! fiber arts

By Bethanne

Something New!

Viewing large you will see more of the amazing shimmer to this silk.

Sari silk waste is very popular among textural yarn spinners. It is the remaining fibers from making sari silk fabric and imported from India. I have used it before and was excited when a fellow spinner offered custom dyeing for her special sari silk fiber. Well, I ordered a pound in three specific colors (a red, a mustard and a brown). I waited a month. What I got was a pink, a yellow and a washed out teal! What? They got the dye order wrong so she submitted the order again and another whole month went by and the colors again were wrong. I was saddened because I had envisioned all sorts of specific projects with custom dyed sari silk fiber.

So began my quest to make my own blending fibers and this week my premium quality blending silk will hit my Etsy shop. It is a quality mulberry silk that I have dyed with non-premetalized acid dyes. The nice part is that I had control over staple lengths and the average is 3 inches. This silk is dyed in my studio and is the (hopefully) beginning of a whole section to my fiber shop. It's my very favorite of all that I am making right now for blends (many in progress).

It glimmers in the sunlight and is so incredibly soft and I got the colors I wanted! Yay! Now back to fiber prep - it's a long week of doing that and then putting the items in the shop later on this week. More silk is on order. I'm busy!

happy birthday Mom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.