Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Bridge With a Lot of Heart

I snapped this photo during our break during rehearsal tonight. My cello was resting against my leg while I was chatting with my fellow cellists, bemoaning the complexity of "Sorcerer's Apprentice", when I noticed how the light was illuminating the bridge and its big heart. My cello bridge is French style, denoted by the longer legs, taller arch and bigger heart. Belgian style bridges have shorter legs and arch, and smaller heart, and are, I believe a bit thicker across the top.

In addition to holding the strings up, the bridge transfers the vibration of the strings to the body of the cello and the soundpost. Seemingly minute adjustments in the placement of the bridge and soundpost can make big differences in the quality of your sound. Lucky for me, the luthier who set up my cello (Sten Olsen at Olsen Violins in Seattle) did an outstanding job, and I love the rich, warm, powerful sound, and playability. As with every vibrating part on a cello, the bridge will only become better and better with age. A fact that's true of many people I know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.