Liangge

By Liangge

OU Memory #15 - The Open Library

OU Library again, simply because I forgot to carry my staff card and couldn't get access to Stuart Hall Building conveniently. (Was that a sign that I shall leave the place?) Indeed, it is an amazing building worth blipping.

Last time I only took a photo of one of the corners with untitled pole display. Now it's the outlook.

I spent quite a lot of time immersing myself into the space, the shelves, and the piles. Regularly in the first two years an array of research training workshops were given there, sometimes with food provided (yummy!), and I think my attendance record was full. My feeling is that communicating with experienced and experts does inspire one more than reading books and papers alone.

It has a digital lab, where one can play Wii games (only tennis, no table tennis!) and it has seminar rooms and research rooms where various events are held. It has cells where one can lock himself/herself inside for a 'quiet' world.

It is the place where I was officially video taped (two cameras!) for my academic presentation training, which was burned into a CD with OU logo for memory. It is also the place where I was officially video taped for making OU language studies promotion content, with suit and tie on and sweating under the spot light.

Most recently, I had the pleasure to be back joining the Research School's training workshops to update and upgrade my knowledge of the academic and professional world, with some bits of contribution from my own experience.

It is OPEN!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.