Durkonkell

By Durkonkell

Angels and Demons

I spent this afternoon shooting production stills for a student film project in the church pretty much opposite my house. While I'm not religious in any sense of the word, I am a fan of history and this place has been here for eight hundred years. That makes it pretty special.

It's also a right pain to photograph in, because the light is AWFUL. Far too dark except by the windows where it suddenly becomes ridiculously bright. It's most inconvenient.

After they wrapped up, I asked if I could shoot some portraits of the cast. They agreed! I spent half an hour or so playing around with low-key single light source portraits which was amazing fun. Kaya - the lady in this shot - was fantastic to work with, enthusiastic as hell and constantly throwing ideas at me. She did most of the work, I just mucked about with the lighting.

She and Nathan were really patient too when I couldn't get my flash to work properly. Which was about two thirds of the time, damn it. I also deeply regret not having a second flash so that I could do some backlighting. Anyone have a spare £200?

Great fun. Many thanks to everyone involved, and Nathan and Kaya in particular for letting me practise my DRAMATIC LIGHTING on them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.