But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Tree Planting.

I'm going to get shot for this you know.
I am secretary of "The Friends of Roslin Glen," they exist to help preserve and improve the beauty and biodiversity of the glen. Last week they planted a load of saplings in various parts of the area, many of them in sensible places, but these are in the middle of a small patch of woodland that has been cleared by nature and would, in due course, have been replanted by the same agency. The question is, "Do I dare ask why?"

Invasive species include Himalayan balsam, Japanese knotweed and, my pet hate, rhododendron; also trees such as sycamore, introduced to Britain two thousand years ago by the Romans. These are, quite rightly, being progressively removed from the glen. Balsam is a particular problem as it is being brought down the river from estates where it is not controlled; it is interesting that it is evolving quickly and is now, not only spread by flowing water, but moving uphill onto drier land under its own steam. I sense a similarity with the triffids.

I’m having fairly serious problems with internet connection at the moment, I can’t upload any files which affects attachments to emails, posting photographs on Blip and on the cinema web site. It appears to be due to Flash Player. If entries are sporadic, please accept my apologies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.