The Last Hurrah of the Tulip

Tulips don't give up the ghost easily do they? Even as they drop petals they still look great.

I'd like to visit Holland and take photo's of fields of tulips, sunlit with brooding clouds behind. You know that 'special' kind of light when the sun shines but there's a heavy ominous feeling in the air, and you look round for the rainbow or the oncoming storm. The contrast of the deep red against a cloud so deep it's turned blue and yellow like a bruise. I can see the photo now :o)

Or a field of sunflowers in France, poppies in England, lavender... where does that grow? France again maybe? Roller Coaster lines of blue like waves.

It's not just the photo though. It's seeing it and "experiencing" it, and I think that even if you can see it as if' you had a camera, frame it in your mind, so you can remember it, then that's amazing too. It's something I can do more now that I see things as pictures, and have learned to enjoy the experience too.

I have had times where I've spent too long trying to get *that* photo and have lost the experience.

But then if I had never gone out to seek the photo, I'd never have been near the experience in the first place.

4 or 5 am alarm calls to go and see a sunrise?... Not until I started taking photo's! But now sometimes I'll get that photo and then stay and watch the sky develop while the camera's in the bag (but near enough to grab if I feel the need!)

In rambling mode tonight - sometimes it's fun just to let your imagination drift. My trouble is I can't type fast enough to keep up with my thoughts and it all ends up as drivel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.