An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

New Holland honeyeater

I know I have blipped this bird a couple of times before, but never from my own garden. One of my callistemon trees was full of honeyeaters for a short while this morning. If you go large, you can see a couple of red 'things' in its beak. I'm still not sure what they are – I thought they were dots of sap, but looking at macro photos I have taken of one of the more infested trees, they look a lot like small hard red/orange bugs (though they don't seem to move). Some branches are covered with them – some, like this one, aren't. The wasps, bees, flies and birds like them, whatever they are. One of my trees has died, so I don't know if they are doing the trees any good.

We have hot water, hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.