khanjar (Arabic: خنجر‎)

Getting dressed to go to my Aunty Joan's funeral this morning and I thought I'd wear my Khanjar cufflinks that I bought at the NAAFI when based at RAF Masirah, Oman, 1968.
I haven't worn them for many years and they could do with a bit of a silver polish but I'm reluctant due to the filigree silver work.

The funeral was a sombre affair as you might expect and with only 3 of the 5 sisters left, out of a family of 10 children, I'm wondering when all of the cousins will get together when these three remaining aunties have gone.

After my Fathers funeral in 2006 we said at the time that we only get together at funerals nowadays so Marlane organised a large family reunion for the Barton/Rose side of the family. The family originates from the village of Tarrington, Herefordshire, but a few are now scattered. We had 54 people at that reunion in June 2007. Lennon was the youngest attendee at about 3 weeks old.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.