Warren

By WarrenBousie

Black and white of a black and white

Another reason why I like black and white photography is that it focuses my attention on lights and darks of an object and the experience of this helps when I'm drawing.

Here is a quick sketch of a scene where everything was black but I can't simply sketch everything in as dark as my pencil allows. Light reflects of everything and there's also form and shape to consider. Our cameras have to capture all these subtleties and it's the noticing of these when composing and exposing lol, that can make or break a black and white photo. At the end of the day any photo can be made black and white but since we lose colour to help emphasise shape etc we have to rely on lights and darks to convey shape, form etc. so looking for more contrasting shades within a scene can help our black and white photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.