Bantams

To be honest 11 actual Bantams might have put up a better show.

Matt took me to the Bradford City match for my birthday. Dads and lads and football echo back generations for me.

I remember going to see Workington Town play their last game in the football league with my Grandad, recently registered blind,but he'd lived that team for decades, told tales about having young managers round for tea (including Bill Shankley).

I remember my dad taking me to see Carlisle play Middlesborough when Carlisle were (briefly) atop of the top division.

I remember the day I was transformed hopelessly and for ever into a Sunderland supporter watching them beat Luton 2-0 in the cup quarter final (yes the year they won it), how my dad and uncle Rob got tickets was never made clear.

I remember Matt waking up when City equalised in his first game aged about 4 - he'd snoozed through most of the game.

I remember seeing him burst into tears watching a cup final on the telly (Stevie Gerrard scoring an improbable goal) not much older just at the sheer drama of it all, and remember doing the same watching the 1971 final Liverpool again.

I remember going to the New Wembley with him to see England play Brazil in the first game there.

So many memories from 100's of games stood and now sat in the crowd. So much forgotten.

Mind you I don't remember a duller game than this game. 90mins no shot on goal for Bradford. But sport is that as well as the drama and glory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.