Art Convergence

This is one of my favorite spots, right in the heart of Bellingham. I love standing next to the quietly compelling "Our Time" sculpture by Weston Lambert and looking across the street at Whatcom Museum's welcoming Lightcatcher building.

I spent a few minutes enjoying this view early this afternoon, before having a pleasant search in a nearby second-hand bookstore for old Penguins to take on our upcoming trip (I still prefer books to reading on a "device") and then meeting an artist friend at the museum's excellent small cafe for a late lunch to celebrate her recent birthday.

The sun was shining by the time we said goodbye, and I toyed with the idea of going to Lake Padden for a cloud-reflections-in-water image, but this one won out.

(Click here to see the sculpture glowing in sunlight and learn more about the artist, and here to see my alternate image for today, showing one of the column's other faces.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.