Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Flower of Astrophytum ornatum

It's good to have my macro lens back in operation again! The XZ1 isn't bad close up, but it's fiddly to see what is in focus on the screen, and this lens performs much better.

I've used it for a few things today, but I liked the cactus flower best. This is an attractively marked cactus, that looks even better with an open flower. I love the profusion of pollen that these flowers produce.... determined to maintain the gene pool.

It has been about the wettest March here in Christchurch that I can remember. There was a lot of rain during the storm when we left for the North Island, and it seems that it has rained a lot since. I have never seen so many fungi growing in our garden, which is normally quite dry at this time of year. More photo opportunities, but the backgrounds were too messy on those I attempted today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.