FotoAlex

By FotoAlex

Throwback Thursday

I drove to Tucson to hang out with my grandpa, and my brother, aunt and cousin showed up too. Grandpa showed us some really old photos he had. This one is him when he was 2 years old in 1923 or '24. That's so awesome. He also showed us a picture of a Ford Model A his dad had.

Grandpa told us stories about his time in the Army Air Corps during World War II. He was stationed stateside as a tail gunner trainer on B-24 Liberators. I love his old stories from wartime. He didn't serve overseas, so he doesn't have horror stories -- that makes it easy for him to tell his stories. He told us the first time he was in a B-17, he got scared when it landed because its landing gear is in the back. The B-24's gear is in the front, so the B-17 tilts back as it lands. He thought the tail was going to crash!

My grandpa's the best. He's 92 and still doing relatively well. I love him.

It was great catching up with family. I hadn't seen my brother, aunt or cousin in a couple of years. We sat around and talked for a few hours. After they left, I stayed at my grandpa's place and watched my Arizona beat San Diego State and advance to the Elite Eight. What an excellent day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.