Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Algete Plaza de Toros

I found a wallet at door number 14 on my way home this afternoon. (I live at 12.) The wallet belonged to some woman who lived in Algete, a town in northeast Madrid about 30 km away from the center. All her cards were there including her and her children's health cards, transportation pass, bank card, and more. I had no idea what to do with it. I thought that maybe she dropped it and I should probably stick a note at the door to tell her I had it. As I walked towards my door, I found some torn up papers scattered on the ground and in the bushes. I gathered them and found a receipt with her phone number. I called and nobody answered.

My roommates and I tried to figure out what to do. Should we give it to the police station or go directly to her in Algete? Nayib suggested that we go return it to her in person. He'd come along with me. So today Nayib and I went on a little adventure. This gave Nayib the opportunity to see more of Madrid as well as do some community service.

We got to Algete after about 2 hours (we took a cafe break in between), located her apartment, and lo and behold she no longer lived there. wah wah.... I took out the receipt with her phone number again and gave it a ring one more time. This time someone picked up! It was the woman's sister. I gave the sister my phone number and after a few minutes the woman called me. We arranged to meet at Alcampo in the afternoon. Apparently she lives close to us. erhm...

When we finally were able to get her wallet back to her, she was relieved and was thankful that we took the time to return her wallet. She said not very many people would do such a thing. She also had thought that I was Romanian because of my accent in Spanish. I told her I was American and then that was pretty much it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.