Life Doodles

By LifeDoodles

Family photographs from long ago. 1919 Wedding.

I'm not sure if this totally follows the guidelines of the project, but it represents what I am working on today. I have become the happy custodian of what remains of my grandmother's photograph box. One of my photo hobbies is restoring old images - not to a perfect state, but to 'erase' water marks, rips and bends in photographs. Many of the images I have been working on are from the early 1900s - they have, quite literally, been 'through the wars'. Then I had to figure out who everyone is. (Note to self, writing 'great granny' or 'Aunty' on the back of a photo just doesn't cut the mustard!)

Today, we take photos of every tiny event in our lives, but there is something so much more precious about the one photograph from a wedding, the single child portrait, especially when none of the people in it are with us any more. I've made this photo book as a social narrative for my children - to give them a wider feeling of the family they come from but never knew.

So the photo book I am sending to the printers today is a real work of love and has taken over a year to complete.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.