BabyMaybe

By BabyMaybe

IVF Journey: 25w5d pregnant

This is my IVF diary. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for four years now, and have a diagnosis of 'unexplained infertility'. We have finally reached the top of the waiting list for IVF - a form of assisted conception. I'm blogging about what happens as it happens, as a kind of therapy for me and as an awareness raising exercise of what IVF is all about.

A bit from the husband today:

The First Kick

On a few occasions I have tried to feel the baby moving, but nothing. At the start of the month I went to the USA for a week for work, and the night I got back I tried again. This time I felt him! It’s really weird – a bit like having my hand on the duvet when the cat got under it! A funny wriggly feeling in a place that nothing should be moving. It’s also lovely. It’s not quite an “almost in tears” moment like the fluttering heart on the first ultrasound, but it’s pretty darned exciting. I have seen him moving around on the ultrasounds, and my wife has been able to feel that daily for ages, and I’ve felt a bit left out.

Now I get to feel him moving about quite regularly which I really enjoy – it helps me to feel closer to my son and it’s a nice intimate thing to do with my wife too.

As regular readers will have gathered, my lovely wife continues to have a thoroughly miserable time of it. The exhaustion was bad enough, but with her blood pressure starting to concern people a little the time travelling to extra appointments and waiting hours to see people has become really disruptive once again. It’s just not fair – she deserves better than this. As usual, there’s not a lot I can do other than try to be as supportive as I can, but it’s wearing thin. I want my wife back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.