IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Blue Remembered Fields?

I worked all morning and in the afternoon I went to meet some colleagues for a cup of tea and a relaxed chat about our work (it's called Continuing Professional Development in the official version).
I came home by the scenic routes and took a few roadside pictures of primrose laden ditches, water meadows and old oak trees, till my camera battery packed up. They were all much of a muchness but this one of a field of mustard seed narrowly got the vote.

The heading is a cheesy misquote of A.E. Housman's oft quoted line about "blue remembered hills" from the fortieth poem in A Shropshire Lad. The actual poem is as follows;

Into my heart an air that kills
From yon far country blows:
What are those blue remembered hills,
What spires, what farms are those?
That is the land of lost content,
I see it shining plain,
The happy highways where I went
And cannot come again.

And by the way, Hooray, fellow blipper Rosiecatwoman is coming out of hospital today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.