Allons-y! fiber arts

By Bethanne

Self Worth

Had an upsetting afternoon trying to provide good customer service. It backfired on me because the woman, who had bought sari silk from me before, was being ready hard nosed about my prices for my new blending silks and also pushing me for every detail of how I made the blend. I gave her a lot of info and also offered to send samples since she had bought from me before. I had forgotten that she lives in Canada so that cost me to do that. Okay. I offered. but then she started pushing me for wholesale prices (I am a retailer) and comparing my silks to someone else's imports and their prices.

Well the fiber she was comparing it to is made in India and is a waste product not an "art silk" hand painted to make a very color specific batch of silk and mine is also grade A silk. I let her get to me. Fiber artists don't make heaps of money. Heck - if people really got how much labor goes into fiber work they would stop and have a little more understanding and compassion for all the effort. Yep. I am a little worked up.

My prices are fair and I am unable to compete with India so I will sit back and let the chips fall where they may. Not the best thing to happen one day into my posting my first blending silks. This is one of them. All hand painted and then blended by hand into "a cloud." Why do I let people like this get to me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.