wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Boundin'

A new twist on the old jumping favourite.

It's been quite a wonderfully long day today, out on Bruny Island with a group of friends. After not nearly enough sleep I awoke far too early for a Saturday and set off to rendezvous at the ferry. From Hobart to the island, with car and ferry is less than an hour, but on the weekend it pays to head over earlier rather than later. We first examined the goods at the smoke house, enjoying samples of smoked wallaby and delicious chutneys, before heading to the cheese company. I have to say I liked all the cheeses they had on offer, from the 'O.D.O.' (one day old) to the smelly socks well-ripened one. I bought a couple of pieces for my parents, and ate a fairly delicious cheese (and ham) toastie. Next was fudge, and it's always impossible not to buy a couple of bags of offcuts (we've now demolished one of those just this evening). Berries, a beach stop and a winery and we were just about ready to head back to the ferry.

It's a beautiful island, and I've recently been reading accounts of the early Europeans exploring the seas around Tasmania. It was great to see some of the channel area through that lens, trying to imagine it without the roads or power lines, with rivers full of whales and small fires running through the bush up from the river's edge.

I'm voting for a cider tour of the Huon next, with several factories and tasting rooms down that way. This was a great way to spend a Saturday and I'll definitely be keen to have a rematch of me vs delicious Tasmanian produce.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.