Liam's Way

My way past his house, driving to St James's University Hospital in Leeds for about twenty years and never noticing...

Liam's way of coping. Let me share...

I saw this garden on an estate on the eastern side of Leeds while I was driving to a meeting at the University. Probably the morning sun on everything that caught my eye. Whatever, I knew I just had to stop and take some images.

When I walked over, the owner was coming out of his back door and came over to chat with me. We introduced ourselves, and Liam said he'd been amassing all sorts of statues and signs for forty years - including the ten foot high one from the now-closed Dock Green pub in Harehills!

"It used to drive my lovely wife mad, don't you know? But I lost her from cancer five years ago. Now I raise money for the Macmillan nursing charity by charging people to come and look round".

I promised I'd send him some pictures (he doesn't use a computer) and he was really chuffed when I told him he'd be on the internet...

Sound guy, and not least because he also puts up with regular dialysis three times a week as he's a chronic renal failure patient.

And all this I know, because I blip...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.