0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"I tried photography as a business when I was younger, it didn't work out. My father worked in a factory all his life, he couldn’t understand how his son had chosen this as a career. He wanted me to go into something a bit more ‘respectable’, so here I am - a lawyer.”


Got to play with a fancy new toy today, not mine unfortunately but Aamir’s Leica M here. It’s a fine piece of kit, a lot heavier than I expected with the brass body so not sure how it is supposed to fulfil the street and reportage field of photography. I guess the size, and given that it's full-frame, is something to consider.

It’s not Aamir’s first Leica either, he has owned a variety of them, but mentioned that he may go back to film, the weight of this particular model being the main reason, plus he likes the ‘feel' of film.

I didn’t get into too much of a discussion with Aamir about the decision to give up the photography business and study law. I know how certain Indian parents can place an onus on professions where their children have a high chance of succeeding economically, and in the worst of cases they end up doing what their parents want, rather than fulfil their own needs. I’m sure the parents mean well, but there can also be social snobbery in play and unfortunately this is inbuilt into some cultures more than others.

I can see it being a complex issue in many families, not just Indian, and it certainly gave me something to think about after my encounter with Aamir.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.