Deltic Express

I took a drive over to the Great Central Railway today as they were having a Diesel Gala weekend. However instead of spending the day riding the trains, I decided to take a walk to view and photograph the trains. It was a nice 4.5 mile circular walk through woods and across fields, although one part was extremely muddy and my boots sunk up to their collars, and are now currently outside drying out after being cleaned.

About halfway around the walk I crossed the line over a bridge and this was the view point which is popular with railway photographers. I spent about an hour there watching the trains pass, of which there were quite a few with it being a Gala weekend.

This is a guest loco, Gordon Highlander, a Class 55 Deltic, which used to power the trains from London Kings Cross to Edinburgh on the East Coast Mainline, before being replaced by the Inter-City 125's

I really enjoyed the walk in the hazy spring sunshine. and I will revisit it later when there are some steam trains running.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.