River of Flowers

By doffy

Glanrafon Mill at Glynllifon Country Park

A beautiful sunny day with temperature hitting 20 degrees C at Glynllifon near Caernarfon. Another craft day where we had a lovely relaxing day of weaving - I'm going to add more to my piece then I'll blip it later in the week.

During our lunch break I had a wander around and found this old water mill. The information board states that ....

It was originally a flour mill powered by water from the river Llifon.
...
Around 1914 Glanrafon Mill was adapted as a generator house that produced electricity for the house and adjacent buildings. Electricity was generated by diverting the river water to a turbine within the building which then turned a dynamo ...


I drove through Caernarfon town on the way home and it looked like San Tropez with everyone wandering around in their shorts and shades - and not moving off the road for the traffic :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.