Mum Opening Her Card on Mothers Day 2014

It was a real pleasure to be together today in Sitges on Mothering Sunday. Mum recounted a moment in the grounds of Brodick Castle on the Isle of Arran 37 years ago, just after she had been widowed, when we sat together on a bench in its shaded woodland and I, at the age of 17, apparently gave an account of the history of the Hamilton and Montrose families who had occupied the castle since it was built. 'Suddenly, I knew that with a son like this everything would be alright.', she said. It brought home to me how we have always given strength to each other often in unwitting ways, and how, that afternoon, I must have felt sufficiently secure with her by my side to speak in such a way. And that sense of security continues to this day.

Here's Dd's shot of us both together..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.