The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

In stile

Gus and I set off for our usual walk over the Knott this morning before breakfast, but it was such a beautiful morning that on a whim we diverted for a 4 mile loop that took in Gait Barrows. Poor Gus was wondering if the photographer was ever going to get going again after we stopped to take shots of the crumbling old boathouse on the side of little Haweswater. He settled down to wait on the other side of the low stone stile. That was the day's blip sorted.

Dr T has pointed out to me that Gus keeps a journal on the canine equivalent of Facebook - the so-called Snoutbook.com. I still haven't tracked this down as it's on a parallel system to the world wide web, and can't be found with Google searches. However, I'm reliably informed that Gus has related the true story of events of what happened when his regular people were away, and he was being minded by/minding Dr T. It is a significantly different version to the interpretation I gave a week ago, and so I'm quoting an extract of it here verbatim as a correction to the record (it being too late to edit my blip entry):-

'I can't understand why Dad expressed some doubt about the duration of my absence when Dr T explained that it was only a minute or two - I saw this nice looking lady just outside the playing fields and had to go and give her the old "stand close" routine - she was just putty in my paws! I obviously was glad to see Dad and Mum again and was overjoyed when they came back but I have been a little out of sorts as I'm missing being out for long walks every day with Dr T and getting my paws groomed when I get back".

Back to today, we spent the afternoon visiting Eric and his daughter Lynn (I'm not sure if I have spelled that correctly). The tea and conversation flowed, and time simply melted away. A very good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.