Althelite

By Althelite

Day 49: Stirling Duathlon

Today was the 1st race of the year, the Scottish Championship Duathlon in Stirling. Going in to the race I wasn't sure about where I was in terms of my fitness as it is pretty early on in my training schedule and there is really only one true way of knowing for sure.

Based on this race, my fitness is ok, a fair way back in comparison to previous years, but not so far off the pace that I am worried. The most positive aspect of the day was that I set out to race where I would be able to complete the first run of 10km at a pace that I could match for the last 5km, and I more or less achieved this. This was despite having a few fellow club members that I could have chased who are clearly, at this stage of the season, going very well. At my current level of fitness, there was no way I could have lived with them, and would have suffered hugely if I had tried.

In terms of satisfaction levels with my race 9/10. In terms of performance 7/10.

At the end of the race we managed to get a club photo and I was so proud to have a my wee boy in club colours at his first race.

This week's training and racing:

1hr swim
4.5 hr bike
3 hr run

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.