Someone To Listen

The work part of my day went as usual with no wrinkles to speak of, but the rest of the day was overflowing with troubled friends and acquaintances

It was on my heart to contact an old musician friend this morning and I acted on it this afternoon only to find him in a deep dark place. One that touched my soul. I reached out and am prayerfully waiting for his response.

After a couple of phone calls to those I count close to me I was visited by another musician acquaintance, one that has ties going back some twenty-five years. After we exchanged pleasantries he informed me that he'd been experiencing a very low period in his life. I vowed to act on our friendship and visit him this week.

And so it went throughout the day, one after another, and I realized how no matter what kind of day we're having, those around us are in need of our friendship. More often than not, they probably just need someone to listen.

At my father-in-laws earlier this evening I stumbled upon Cedar, his Golden Retriever. Cedar like everyone else I met today was troubled. At nine years of age his hip dysplasia has limited his quality of life. We shared a moment and I know he knew I cared.

As I rest a bit uneasy tonight, there are many (smile moment) on my mind.

Pray on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.