Robbwood1973

By Robbwood1973

They Crossed The Rubicon......

That irrevocable step that commits one to a specific course.

Literally in 1853.....

When they left Co Down, Northern Ireland on the sailing ship, Albinus.

And for real in the late 1860's.....

When they selected land at The Rubicon in North-East Victoria.

William Finlay Robb and Susanna McCullough

My paternal great great grandparents.

Their eldest son Thomas Alexander Robb, my great grandfather....

Was born at sea on the voyage out.....

Just after passing The Cape of Good Hope.

Just over a 100 years later I acquired these family photos and copied them....

Using the simple extension tube with my then Pentax Spotmatic SPII.

Pre scanner days, I subsequently copied hundreds of old photos over the years...

Using this method for my other passion....genealogy.

And here I am today, photographing them again....

Nearly 40 years later!!!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.