misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Surprise!

This might be titled "In Like a Lion and Out Like a Lion"... that old wisdom saying about the month of March.
[Blip looking due East at dawn last day of March]
This year is sure going down in the record books, once we find them.
I do not remember the beginning and end of March ever being nearly identical. Fields on higher ground have already been dressed with fertilizer and lightly ploughed in some cases. Now we do not see them, again.
Although the snowplows started clearing the major roads last night when the snow started, and the others very early this morning, it looks like school opening will be delayed by and hour or two. They are working hard not to add any more school closures so the children do not have to go to school in the summer (Not to mention the teachers!)
Some of the Pennsylvania (state south of NY) urban school districts took too many snow days. The kids & teachers will be in school well into July. Ugh! Hot classrooms with no a/c since classes never ran that far from early June and the buildings were not designed for it.
I wonder if the Philadelphia schools are closed today? They may just go to school all year...
Well, I wish this hadn't happened because I am so very ready for Spring. I have started one pan of 'experimental seeds"-- meaning I do not know what they are but I saved them, so I must want them. Will it be until My before I can plug the seedlings into the warm soil??
Flooding Season has already started. That is what I thought today's blip would be instead of a quickie just outside the front door of more snow. I planned going down to --or near --the river to count how many hundreds of geese have taken over the cornfields, the former soccer field and, of course, the river out of its original banks. This amount of white precipitation will add to the floods. It is difficult in spring when the ground remains frozen solid and the rains, mixed with melted snow, overflow not only the river banks but the 'moat' around my small castle... built unbeknownst to me on a bog. (I am reading Ivanhoe for the first time by Sir Walter Scott and am picking up an old English accent & vocabulary.)

I nightly thank God for the excellent ffrench drain pumping away in my ultra-dry basement.

Ah, March Monday, you Lioness, you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.